looking for well pump advice. Updated!!!!!

Runs With Scissors

Equipment
L2501 TLB , Grappel, Brush Hog, Box Blade, Ballast box, Forks, Tiller, PH digger
Jan 25, 2023
Michigan
Well the wife went up to the cottage this weekend and sure enough, there was no water pressure.

We are on a well of course, and I am a Citidiot, so I have no experience with a well.

My Google-Fu skills have given me a basic understanding of how a well pump works, but I'm looking for some "advice" on some "what if "scenarios.

I have no problem checking the pressure switch and troubleshooting out to the well "spout" (Not sure what the pipe that comes out of the ground is technically called).

The neighbors built the house about 16 years ago, and have told me that the pump is about 300 ft deep. I am located about 1,000 yards from Lake Huron and according to the neighbors they originally found water at 96 ft. , but code in the area is 100 ft, so they made them drill until they got to 300 Ft. (that sounds NUTS to me but whatever)

I have no idea if this is a "ghost story" or not, but we have a very good relationship with them so I believe them.

1......Are there any "in general" "gotchas" to look out for?

If the pressure switch and line going out to the pump are good, and it turns out to be the pump

2.....any recommendations on pump brands to buy/steer clear of?

3.....If pump needs to be replaced, any guidance on pipe type (i.e steel/pvc/black pipe)...?

4........If it's a bad pump, would you just drop the pump at 96 feet and say "to hell with the code"

I hate doing stuff twice, so I'm good with spending the money for good stuff.

Paul

Pawnee

Equipment
L2501
Jul 1, 2021
Ontario Canada
Is it a submersible pump in the bottom of the well or a jet pump which would be above ground?

Reactions: 1 user

rc51stierhoff

Equipment
B2650, MX6000, (BX sold)
Sep 13, 2021
Ohio