Terrible looking but functional tiedown bracket

dan_m

Equipment
BX2380
Jul 9, 2020
Georgia
I'm a new welder, teaching myself fcaw. Here is my second weld project, 1/2" D style tie down point for when hauling my BX2380. Had a tree (sweetgum) on far side of small creek fallover in recent heavy rain. Used the homemade mount point with chain to drag the trunk up the creekbank. I had to bump it a few times to get the trunk up the bank where I am now more able to cut it into firewood. The mount point was welded using multiple passes. The weld looks terrible but amazingly enough held up to the task of an anchor point on the chain.

Dan

Attachments

Reactions: 8 users

85Hokie

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
BX-25D ,PTB. Under Armor, '90&'92-B7100HST's, '06 BX1850 FEL
Jul 13, 2013
Bedford - VA
Not to bust you bubble - But a D-ring bolted would suffice - But I do understand a new skill and roll on!!!

Always better to pull from a center location when possible FWIW

1655817051451.png

Reactions: 1 user

D2Cat

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L305DT, B7100HST, TG1860, TG1860D, L4240
Mar 27, 2014
40 miles south of Kansas City
Hey 85Hokie, he's welding a project for his use with his idea. Does it really matter if it 8" off center? ;) ;)

If we had a country of people who would take some initiate and create, build and use something they could/ would actually use this country wouldn't be in the fix it's in!!!!!

• Haha
Reactions: 5 users

Pawnee

Equipment
L2501
Jul 1, 2021
Ontario Canada
I never got welding figgerred out. Too many folks do it so well that I just get them to.
When you get better you can chuck that part and make a real purty one.
(y)

Reactions: 1 users

dan_m

Equipment
BX2380
Jul 9, 2020
Georgia
Hey 85Hokie, he's welding a project for his use with his idea. Does it really matter if it 8" off center? ;) ;)