What Attachment?

MRudy86

Equipment
L4701
Jan 24, 2023
Hello All,

I have an old hay field at my house that is about 3 acres. The previous owner had no idea what they were doing (not that I'm an expert) and ran an old disc harrow over it in one direction and abandoned the field. I walked into something that is so rutted up and overgrown with weeds that it is borderline impassable with a side-by-side. I want to pick up an implement that will help me get it back into working conditions. Looking for some advice on what to use and what steps to take.

Thought about a tiller, but I have no idea where the rocks are so I'm bound to hit something. Not sure if that will be an issue, haven't used one before. Maybe a land plane with ripper shanks or a set of discs.

I have a L4701 but no attachments at the moment so looking for some first-step suggestions.

Thank you!

DustyRusty

Equipment
2020 BX23S, BX2822 Snowblower, Curtis Deluxe Cab,
Nov 8, 2015
North East CT
Depending on the size of the field, it might require a bulldozer to get it opened up and workable. A good bulldozer operator will leave the field, and know how to take the vegetation off. If there are any tree stumps, the bulldozer will pop them out of the ground without much effort, unless they were huge trees. From what you described, I don't think that you will be able to do much with it efficiently with your tractor.

MRudy86

Equipment
L4701
Jan 24, 2023
Depending on the size of the field, it might require a bulldozer to get it opened up and workable. A good bulldozer operator will leave the field, and know how to take the vegetation off. If there are any tree stumps, the bulldozer will pop them out of the ground without much effort, unless they were huge trees. From what you described, I don't think that you will be able to do much with it efficiently with your tractor.