Rotary or Flail mower..

A.O.

Equipment
L3540HST LA724 FEL
Feb 6, 2015
South Carolina
Need a mower, had a few Rotary cutters over the years but I'm thinking a flail mower maybe as its short stature would make it more maneuverable in my pine woods.
I have NO experience with a flail, like I said I like it being shorter. I'll be cutting some pretty brushy stuff and some small trees up to maybe 1 1/2-2", will a flail cut stuff that big?
What if I hit something ugly like a big rock or stump or something?
Oh.. Tractor is a L3540.. 37 horse ish, and 4x4..

Dave_eng

Lifetime Member

Equipment
M7040, Nuffield 465
Oct 6, 2012
Williamstown Ontario Canada
I have had both.
First a Mott flail which was considered one of the best. Changing broken off knives and hardware was almost a full time job otherwise it would vibrate like crazy. No good for anything but finished lawns.
Now have a Land Pride rotary with 3 blades. It is not a bush hog so don't try clearing land with it or it gets expensive. The gear box broke into pieces when I tried cutting rough land.
If you use it as intended it is a low maintenance implement. Start cutting long grass and you will smoke the belt connecting the three blades and create a flat spot on the belt which makes it vibrate. Belt is long and expensive.
Dave m7040

North Idaho Wolfman

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3450DT-GST, Woods FEL, B7100 HSD, FEL, 60" SB, 743 Bobcat with V2203, and more
Jun 9, 2013
Sandpoint, ID
Need a mower, had a few Rotary cutters over the years but I'm thinking a flail mower maybe as its short stature would make it more maneuverable in my pine woods.
I have NO experience with a flail, like I said I like it being shorter. I'll be cutting some pretty brushy stuff and some small trees up to maybe 1 1/2-2", will a flail cut stuff that big?
What if I hit something ugly like a big rock or stump or something?
Oh.. Tractor is a L3540.. 37 horse ish, and 4x4..