Very short clutch pedal throw

b4200

Nov 5, 2019
ohio
I have a 4200D that in high range my clutch engagement is maybe a 1/4" of travel. It is very hard to operate the clutch smoothly. I feel like a new driver bunny hopping the thing.

In low gear it is much easier, but I am assuming that has to do with the gearing.

The tractor only has 530 hrs. on it and makes no noise or any other issues relating to the clutch pedal or engagement. I'm new to tractors, so I guess i'm asking does throttle amount have anything to do with it, or is it clutch related?

Thanks.

SidecarFlip

Banned

Equipment
M9000HDCC3, M9000HD, Kubota GS850 Sidekick
Oct 28, 2018
USA
Sounds to me like you need a clutch pedal travel adjustment. How much clutch pedal travel do you have presently (free pedal movement from the top to the release point in the travel itself). The pedal needs to be adjusted for 1/2- 1" free travel before resistance.

D2Cat

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L305DT, B7100HST, TG1860, TG1860D, L4240
Mar 27, 2014
40 miles south of Kansas City
Just like Flip said, loosen the lock nut and adjust it (might have to take the cotter pin out of the other end also).

North Idaho Wolfman

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3450DT-GST, Woods FEL, B7100 HSD, FEL, 60" SB, 743 Bobcat with V2203, and more
Jun 9, 2013
Sandpoint, ID
I have a 4200D that in high range my clutch engagement is maybe a 1/4" of travel. It is very hard to operate the clutch smoothly. I feel like a new driver bunny hopping the thing.

In low gear it is much easier, but I am assuming that has to do with the gearing.

The tractor only has 530 hrs. on it and makes no noise or any other issues relating to the clutch pedal or engagement. I'm new to tractors, so I guess i'm asking does throttle amount have anything to do with it, or is it clutch related?

Thanks.
There could be a variety of factors going on.

530 hours on a 35+ year old tractor is nothing, so i suspect sitting it doing more damage than it being over worked.