PTO spline alignment

msmcknight

Equipment
B2601
Oct 30, 2017
Statesville, NC, USA
Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new to tractors. I've had my B2601 for about 9 months now and keep struggling to get the PTO spline on the tractor to line up with the PTO spline on the attachment. So, when I try to install the PTO shaft, one side or the other doesn't line up.

I usually adjust the spline on the attachment side by hand, but this can be tricky, especially if it doesn't want to turn easily.

Are there any tricks you guys know of to help with this? Is there a tool that will help -- maybe a spline tool on a socket I could connect a breaker bar to?

Any suggestions would be appreciated.
-Michael

seanbarr

Equipment
B7100DT (sold) - Branson 3520H
Feb 1, 2013
Deer Park, WA
Re: PTO spline allignment

Put the PTO lever in neutral (or in position between gears), then you should be able to free spin the PTO shaft by hand.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

85Hokie

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
BX-25D ,PTB. Under Armor, '90&'92-B7100HST's, '06 BX1850 FEL
Jul 13, 2013
Bedford - VA

As mentioned - placing the tractor pto in the "off" position should allow you to rotate the entire pto shaft as you place it over the implement. Placing a screwdriver in the yoke to help you turn it will help also.

Another thing to consider too - the sliding pto shaft will slide out from one another - it only goes back together ONE way! A sharpie or something that can mark on both shafts will help you slide them back if they need to come apart.

BAP

Lifetime Member

Equipment
2012 Kubota 2920, 60MMM, FEL, BH65 48" Bush Hog, 60"Backblade, B2782B Snowblower
Dec 31, 2012
New Hampshire

Make sure your tractor engine is turned off.

SDT

Equipment
multiple and various
Apr 15, 2018
SE, IN

Hi everyone,