Odd Colored Piston Head

jetattblue

Equipment
BX1800; L2550
Mar 14, 2018
Arlington, TX
Odd Colored Piston Head - Pic Added on 2nd Page

I have very little engine experience, but I am working on a couple of Kubota tractors as fun projects. One of the tractors is a Kubota BX1800 with the D722 engine. I purchased knowing that it had low compression in the 2nd cylinder.

Today, I took the head off of the engine, and this is the first time that I have ever seen the inside of any engine in person. I was struck, however, by the color of the top of the 2nd piston. Although I have not removed the pistons yet, I noticed that the top of the 2nd piston (the cylinder with the low compression) was a flat gray color - almost the color of primer. The other 2 pistons looked more like I expected; they had a black sooty/oily appearance. The difference was very apparent.

Does anyone have any thoughts on what might cause the top of the 2nd cylinder to have the flat gray appearance and not the black-ish sooty appearance of the tops of the 1st and 3rd?

Thank you.

Last edited:

SidecarFlip

Banned

Equipment
M9000HDCC3, M9000HD, Kubota GS850 Sidekick
Oct 28, 2018
USA
Maybe low compression (did you check it to be sure), but sound to me like you have an injector issue, not a compression issue.

North Idaho Wolfman

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3450DT-GST, Woods FEL, B7100 HSD, FEL, 60" SB, 743 Bobcat with V2203, and more
Jun 9, 2013
Sandpoint, ID
You said it had low compression, so it's easy to say it's not firing properly. ;)

Now did something like a bad injector cause it to wash the cylinder and ruin the compression, or did something else cause the low compression issue?

Last edited:

jetattblue

Equipment
BX1800; L2550
Mar 14, 2018
Arlington, TX
You said it had low compression, so it's easy to say it's not firing properly. ;)