Newbie here needs advice between a L185DT & B2150

Munkle Dave

Equipment
B6000e for now but looking for a 4x4 tractor
Jan 8, 2015
Fargo ND
Ok so I'm looking to buy my first 4x4 tractor and I need advice. My choices are a very nice L185DT with the 2cyl (17hp) with 1745 hrs and a ok looking, not as nice B2150 with the 4cyl (24hp) but only has 854 hours and is a 1989 model. L185dt is $4k and the B2150 is $5700. I'm looking to use it to plow snow and I'd like to buy a tiller. So if someone can give me some pros & cons that would be great!!!

Attachments

North Idaho Wolfman

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3450DT-GST, Woods FEL, B7100 HSD, FEL, 60" SB, 743 Bobcat with V2203, and more
Jun 9, 2013
Sandpoint, ID
Some of the real world advantage between the two are:
The B2150 has more HP, less hour (which should mean less wear), better tire setup (normally much wider), better hydraulic system, better trans gearing, Power steering (if equipped), but with all those advantages mean more money to maintain as the systems are all more complicated than the L185.

Both are fairly easy to get any parts you might need to fix them if they have issues.

ADD EDIT:
RIDETOEAT, Great job with the spec sheets, but better to link to the original pages or as attachments that are much bigger and more legible, like this:
L185 Specs Here

B2150 Specs Here

Last edited:

ShaunRH

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3200
May 14, 2014
Atascadero, CA
Any decent sized tiller and that 17hp is going to feel really thin, really fast. Snow removal, both can do, the smaller can do it more handily. Tilling, the higher hp the better.

Munkle Dave

Equipment
Jan 8, 2015
Fargo ND