New B2601 minor scare

JimmyJazz

Equipment
B2601
Aug 8, 2020
Pittsburgh, Pa
When slowing or attempting to stop when coming down a steep section should one rely primarily on the brakes (YIKES!) or the hydrostatic pedal or both? As a new operator I have left a couple of 10 ft long skid marks in the grass and nearly had to change my underwear.

VaGlock

Equipment
B2601 FEL - BH
Jun 28, 2020
Central Va.
You should be in 4 wheel drive, let off the pedal slowly and use the brakes only if needed to come to a full stop. It also depends on how steep and wetness of grass if any.

Reactions: 1 users

i7win7

Equipment
BX2370, B2650 grapple, tree puller, trailer mover, 3 point hoist, mower, tiller
Feb 21, 2020
Central, IL
#1 You're driving too fast
#2 4wd provides extra stopping power
#3 gradually release hydro pedal before needing emergency stop
#4 brake, drop fel & 3pt implement if emergency stop needed
idea is to keep on it's wheels

JimmyJazz

Equipment
B2601
Aug 8, 2020
Pittsburgh, Pa
You should be in 4 wheel drive, let off the pedal slowly and use the brakes only if needed to come to a full stop. It also depends on how steep and wetness of grass if any.
Does letting off of the pedal supply resistance of some sort? It felt like it was freewheeling if that is an applicable term. The grass was dry. In terms of steepness all I can say is its the neighborhood sled riding spot. I wouldn't let anyone other than myself run a tractor on it. My old dirt bike and dune buggy antics inform my decisions. I am going to have to "jump into the 1990s" and learn how to upload pictures here. My life may depend on it. Ha.

VaGlock

Equipment
B2601 FEL - BH
Jun 28, 2020
Central Va.