How to ground welder on small project?

RCW

Lifetime Member

Equipment
BX2360, FEL, MMM, BX2750D snowblower. 1953 Minneapolis Moline ZAU
Apr 28, 2013
Chenango County, NY
I'm a novice.

Working on a small metal yoke with a Lincoln MP210 in MIG mode at 240v.

Needs to be square and plumb. Tolerances aren't 0.001's, but can't be more than 1/16" off. (It's a part for a 1950's tractor).

For the life of me, I can't get the ground clamp on and keep everything together.

Tried clamping the magnet, but welds were cold. With some effort, I could break them by hand.

Long side is 4 3/16"x1 1/2"x 3/16" bar stock. Pretty little for me. Made in USA Vise Grips for reference.

Any suggestion on how to ground the welder without it pulling all apart? I did chamfer the top link, so it doesn't go in a clamp/vise well.

NOTE: The burn spot on the magnet was another project. Not related to grounding this project.

511E7D01-01FC-47C0-AEB4-F0C057B5561E.jpeg

Last edited:

D2Cat

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L305DT, B7100HST, TG1860, TG1860D, L4240
Mar 27, 2014
40 miles south of Kansas City
Put a bolt in that hole with a nut to hold it tight and put the clamp on the end of the bolt. Or you could lay a flat piece of steel across the top (above the magnets) and lay the ground clamp on that metal, exp if you're using a wire welder. Don't clamp it just lay it there.

Reactions: 1 user

WFM

Equipment
L3800
Apr 5, 2013
Porter Maine
Very very simple.
You have any pointed nose vice grips. Short ones ? Or a small C clamp ? you clamp that on and ground to that.
Or depending on the finish of your product. You tac weld another flat bar off the side or top and ground to that. Then break it off and grind smooth.
Yes I weld thounds of hours a year.

Reactions: 3 users

RCW

Lifetime Member

Equipment
Apr 28, 2013
Chenango County, NY