How not to abuse your HST? Bx23S

Mr Winichester

Jul 13, 2017
Hawaii
So I am new to tractors, just got a bx23s. auto trans, and 4WD.

I am wondering about what type of use or should I say improper use may damage or put a lot of wear on the transmission, especially when using the front bucket and pushing into piles, and actions like that where you are pushing up against something and using the forward motion of the tractor.

I have no Idea what type of automatic clutch there is in the drive train, and if it is designed to slip with out damage?

I would like some advice on how much pushing you can do with a machine like this when you are pushing up against a pile and using the forward force to help dig the bucket in. With out doing any damage to the machine.

And also if it is recommended or not to use the 4wd for actions like this even if the ground is not slippery.

Thanks

armylifer

Lifetime Member

Equipment
BX1860, FEL, RCK54P MMM, BB1548 Box Scraper, Quick Hitch, Piranha Bar, BX6315
Mar 26, 2013
Thurston County, WA
Re: How not to abuse your automatic trans? Bx23S

First of all, the transmission on your machine is a hydrostatic drive 2 gear range transmission, not an automatic transmission. There is no clutch. It is okay to slip it a little when working it. There will not be any damage resulting from a little slip. The thing to remember though is that almost all work should be done in low range. Pushing up against piles of material in high range will result in a loss of working power and it MAY damage the hydrostatic drive from over-heating the transmission. You should be okay if you work it in low gear range though.

85Hokie

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
BX-25D ,PTB. Under Armor, '90&'92-B7100HST's, '06 BX1850 FEL
Jul 13, 2013
Bedford - VA