Concerned about used L4600 HST maint.

Tropical Jack

Equipment
Kubota L3301 w/ FEL & BH, tilt and trim, chipper, box blade, grading blade
Newbie here, but not new to tractors. I am considering purchasing an L4600 with FEL, backhoe, and some attachments. Has about 250 hours. Main problem is that the engine oil has only been changed once. Hydro oil and filters have never been changed. Tractor is local to me, and “has the right stuff” for my use. Should I run? Other problem is the seller says they recently paid off Kubota credit, but “does not have paperwork”.

Jack

SidecarFlip

Banned

Equipment
M9000HDCC3, M9000HD, Kubota GS850 Sidekick
Oct 28, 2018
USA
Get the serial number and call KCC and find out. Without the initial 50 hour change everything concerning lubrication is a crapshoot. I'd forget it myself.

Daren Todd

Lifetime Member

Equipment
Massey Ferguson 1825E, Kubota Z121S, Box blade, Rotary Cutter
May 18, 2014
Vilonia, Arkansas
250 hours is when the first oil change is due on my rental equipment. ;) Some of said equipment now has over 10,000 hours on it :D I wouldn't think twice about buying it over that issue. I would just plan on a front to back service before using for any length of time.

How does the equipment look? Is it clean and look good, or is it beat to snot? Dented, obvious signs of misuse?

Tropical Jack

Equipment
Sidecar - Good idea. I will contact Kubota credit. Just seems like the seller would (should) provide something.

Daren - The tractor runs and looks good. No dents or signs of abuse. Kept well greased, and all pins seem tight. The machine is 5 years old, and the guy cannot find his original invoice or any paperwork with Kubota. Weird. Says be bought the backhoe a year ago, but does not have the invoice or manual. Hood is a little faded (been stored outside for last year or two). I have always had old beat tractors, so this seems pristine to me. The unit has been for sale on Craigslist for over a month.

Jack

Daren Todd