can afford one implement to prepare my yard

Reddog

Equipment
B2650HSDC
Nov 12, 2012
Kentucky
well life changes again. I am moving up to MIchigan to take care of my father. Have an acre lot here so traded tractors again, this time I have a 2630 cab tractor.

I do not have much money and my lot looks like a war zone from where the excavator riped out a bunch of trees.

So if i can afford one implement that my tractor can pull what would be my best investment to get this land level out and ready to me lawn for the kids again?

Been looking at culipackers, and look at one that is not typical it looks like two large coild springs instead of drums. thought that might let dirt flow to help level things out, thoguht we might be pulling roots out of it. I expect a lot of hands on root picking anyway

I am a soldier, not a farmer, though I grew up on a farm.

sheepfarmer

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3560, B2650, Gator, Ingersoll mower
Nov 14, 2014
MidMichigan
If you have a fel and bucket on it, you can do 90% with that. Requires some practice, but dump and backblade smooth. Pick rocks into bucket and store someplace else. I am not that good yet, but I have a friend that can smooth stuff out to about a half inch with a bucket. Then a landscape rake for the back if you want.

crmorse

Equipment
'20 RTV-XG850, '16 L47 TLB, '06 JCB 506CHL, '99 JD 455G, 1953 Ford 8N
Nov 28, 2016
Anniston, AL
I'll second the box blade. Especially if it has scarifiers/rippers. Just by changing the top link you can get 3 different types of work out of it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Bulldog

Equipment
M 9000 DTC, L 3000 DT
Mar 30, 2010
Rocky Face, Georgia
If I had to give up all my implements but one the box scrape would be my pick.

You can rip dirt, move dirt, level, smooth, pull forward, push backwards and on and on. Handiest one implement a man can have.