Block heaters...

mike paulson

Jan 11, 2012
ulster, NY
Im new to block heaters and I never really know when Im going to have to hop on my B2620 tractor and use it, or simply just move it for something parked in front of it. So I've decided until someone convinces me otherwise to leave it plugged in 24/7 if the temps go below 30 degrees.
Does anyone else do this and will I be seeing a $1400.00 electric bill next month. I mean what else to do? I know 2 hours will warm it enough for a smoother start but when I need my machine I cant wait 2 hours? Any advice would be appreciated.

Last edited:

PrairieSoul

Equipment
B2920 BX2755HD LA364FL BH65
Dec 23, 2013
Manitoba
Guessing that your cost of electricity is about 20 cents per killowatt hour and the Kubota block heater is 400 watts, your cost will be about 8 cents per hour or about $ 2 dollars per day,

You have several options to reduce that, one would be to use a timer that turns the block heater on or off based on time and/or temperature. If you get one that can do several events a day you could turn it off during periods ( like the middle of the night ) when you won't need to move the tractor, remembering to leave that 2 hour period of being on before you might want to use the tractor. There are also timers that also measure the outside temperature to also control the block heater but the ones I have found turn on at too low of a temperature for my liking.

You could look at something like these to turn the block heater on/off based on temperature.
http://www.ebay.com/bhp/programmable-outlet-thermostat

BX25DMan

Equipment
Kubota BX25D
Sep 16, 2013
Southeast MA
When I bought my new Kubota I asked the dealer specifically about this and he told me I won't need one....I live in New England

olthumpa

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L275
May 25, 2011
Maine
When I bought my new Kubota I asked the dealer specifically about this and he told me I won't need one....I live in New England