B6100D Hard Starting?

clippy

Equipment
Kubota B6100D w/ Kubota FL1000 Tiller, Kubota Bedder, Brush Hog Mower
Hi everyone. I've read on here about hard starting. I'm pretty new to tractors and I'm not exactly sure what qualifies as hard starting. So I figured I would post a video and ask for some feedback. I sure know that my little B6100D is harder to start this winter compared to last summer (when I bought the thing.)

Here's the link to the video on youtube: http://youtu.be/ClA-M3r8ZUo

Just to let you know, it was the first time I started the tractor in 3 or 4 days. Those nights were getting down to -12 or -15 celsius (5 - 10f) and not warming up much during the day time. I switched the glow plugs on for about a minute prior to trying to start the first time. I then paused the recording at about the 15 sec mark while I switched on the glow plugs for another 30 secs or so.

(Sorry for the poor lighting... a window in the shed is basically directly in front of the tractor.)

Thanks.

Daren Todd

Lifetime Member

Equipment
Massey Ferguson 1825E, Kubota Z121S, Box blade, Rotary Cutter
May 18, 2014
Vilonia, Arkansas
Your alright if it's just glow plugs and below freezing ;)That actually did pretty darn good. Mine needs the starter and altenator sent in for rebuilds, so it's not putting a charge on the battery like it should. Only putting out 13 volts. And you have to pull the decompression lever even with a set of jumper cables on it to get the starter wound up enough to get the motor to fire :rolleyes: Starters got a bearing dragging.

So if mine started as quick as yours under those temps, I would be a very happy person :D

85Hokie

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
BX-25D ,PTB. Under Armor, '90&'92-B7100HST's, '06 BX1850 FEL
Jul 13, 2013
Bedford - VA
clippy, your machine is starting FINE! You need to find something else to push your "worry" button.:)