Hey guys! Newbie here!

BillyJackson

Equipment
TLB
Nov 21, 2021
USA
I mean absolute newbie in terms of tractors. I am wanting to learn as much as I can that can help me with my first purchase choice. I have approx 200 acres with which I plan to start an outdoor garden scale train park. most of my application will be road grading with a lesser but consistant need for backhoe capability. not much grass cutting but alot of gravel work and such. I have been leaning toward an M62 as a heavy built swiss army knife main workhorse. A buddy of mine is telling me it is probably overkill and/ or a scut could suffice for much less money.

Any advice you could offer would be greatly appreciated.

Reactions: 1 user

85Hokie

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
BX-25D ,PTB. Under Armor, '90&'92-B7100HST's, '06 BX1850 FEL
Jul 13, 2013
Bedford - VA
Billy,

glad to have you here - I will say this about overkill - 95% of owners wish they had a little bit BIGGER tractor and the other 5% wish they could get around tighter spots a bit easier!

I will say this - get the largest machine that your pocketbook can afford - maybe the M is a bit big - if so, look at the L47 series.

Reactions: 3 users

fried1765

Equipment
Kubota L48 TLB, Ford 1920 FEL, Ford 8N, SCAG Liberty Z, Gravely Pro.
Nov 14, 2019
Eastham, Ma
I mean absolute newbie in terms of tractors. I am wanting to learn as much as I can that can help me with my first purchase choice. I have approx 200 acres with which I plan to start an outdoor garden scale train park. most of my application will be road grading with a lesser but consistant need for backhoe capability. not much grass cutting but alot of gravel work and such. I have been leaning toward an M62 as a heavy built swiss army knife main workhorse. A buddy of mine is telling me it is probably overkill and/ or a scut could suffice for much less money.

I have a 253 hour 2006 Kubota L48 TLB, the predecessor to the L47.