Why <1% Moly spec for Kubota recommended grease?

MNVikingsGuy

Equipment
LX3310, FEL, 60" bucket, 60" grapple, 60" box blade, 60" flail, LX2980 blower,
Sep 7, 2020
Minnesota
I have a bunch of 3% lithium moly grease, but the manual for my new LX3310 + snowblower has a majority of grease points referencing using grease with <1% moly content. Seem like a weird spec. Most moly's are 3% including Kubota's own. I am new to small tractors, what harm could be done by using a 3% mol grease in this case? Obviously if a big deal I will just buy some general purpose HP lithium, but would rather use what I have if I can.

GeoHorn

Lifetime Member

Equipment
M4700DT, LA1002FEL, Ferguson5-8B Compactor-Roller, 10KDumpTrailer, RTV-X900
May 18, 2018
Texas
You may be misreading the recommendation.... Kubota is recommending a Moly grease which is at a minimum of 1%. The 3% you are using exceeds that so you’re good-to-go.

MNVikingsGuy

Equipment
Sep 7, 2020
Minnesota
You may be misreading the recommendation.... Kubota is recommending a Moly grease which is at a minimum of 1%. The 3% you are using exceeds that so you’re good-to-go.
Thanks for the reply, but here is a snapshot from the manual:

1609340025068.png

PaulR

Equipment
BX 23S -- 100 hours seat time so far
Aug 3, 2020
Hadley, MA
I asked my dealer about grease, he said "any grease is better than no grease"....and they call tell right away when people aren't greasing their machines. :geek:

Reactions: 1 users

Bmyers

Lifetime Member

Equipment
Grand L3560 with LA805 loader, EA 55" Wicked Grapple, SBX72 BB, LP 1272 mower
May 27, 2019
Southern Illinois
I asked my dealer about grease, he said "any grease is better than no grease"....and they call tell right away when people aren't greasing their machines. :geek:
I asked the same question to the service manager. He said modern grease has come along ways and the issue is using it more so than which brand to use.

MNVikingsGuy

Equipment
Sep 7, 2020
Minnesota