smoke

LCconvert

Equipment
B6000
Aug 10, 2015
good ol' USofA
I am new to tractors and diesel engines. My new to me B6000 seems to give off a little white smoke when the tractor is under load, like putting it in high gear and driving around the yard. Not a lot of smoke but just enough to barely see it. Is this normal? I don't see any when at idle or really even operating my bucket just driving.

My gas lawn tractor doesn't give off any smoke. Is this just a diesel thing?

thanks!

kuboman

Dec 6, 2009
Canada
I am new to tractors and diesel engines. My new to me B6000 seems to give off a little white smoke when the tractor is under load, like putting it in high gear and driving around the yard. Not a lot of smoke but just enough to barely see it. Is this normal? I don't see any when at idle or really even operating my bucket just driving.

thanks!
Keep track of the antifreeze level just to be sure its not burning antifreeze. Other than that it could be worn injectors. A good dose of a high quality fuel conditioner would be a good idea.
Diesels under load usually produce blackish smoke. White smoke is not usually a good sign.

85Hokie

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
BX-25D ,PTB. Under Armor, '90&'92-B7100HST's, '06 BX1850 FEL
Jul 13, 2013
Bedford - VA

thanks!
Diesels in general "smoke" - but it does depend on color and frequency!
How many hours on the engine? More hours typically relates to more smoke....then again some "new" ones will smoke a bit when cold. I too see "smoke" when I am climbing a steep hill on my 23 year old diesel - and when I increase the throttle, the smoke is easier to see too and when light is shining through the smoke it is easier to see. White can be unburned diesel, low compression will cause fuel not to ignite completely too. Water will also cause the smoke - as others said, keep out eye on coolant level.