Retaining walls

rokhunter

Equipment
BX23S TLB
Dec 28, 2018
Baker, Florida, United States
I'm looking at building a 3' retaining wall to level off a slope behind the house. Running favorites right now are railroad ties, or cinder blocks. I've got zero experience with cement & whatnot but the cinder blocks seem the longer-term option.

Anyone have thoughts, inputs and suggestions?

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

CaveCreekRay

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3800 HST, KingKutter box scraper, KingKutter 66" rake, County Pride Subsoiler
Jul 11, 2014
Cave Creek, AZ
I have done some masonry work and I have learned a lot by watching people who claim to be professionals yet repeatedly do a poor job. Block is doable but, it's a fair amount of work if done right.

IF you decide to do block, there are a boatload of good videos online to show you how to set block. If you can read a "recipe" on how its done, you might surprise yourself with how nice it turns out.

Block requires a good footer (concrete against ground) to set the first row of block on. A strip of rebar in that is always good insurance.

Plan on grouting (filling) the wall with concrete to give it strength. Grouting is done a day or two after the blocks are set and the cap of the wall is just grout shaped with a cap tool. That will take a mixer at least because the wall takes quite a bit of concrete to fill. Ungrouted walls have little strength and temp changes along with water penetration, and nearby loads like heavy rain, will pop them. Plan on laying in a row of rebar along the top of the wall for added strength. When the wall is up and done, coat it in a couple rolled on layers of asphalt water stopper to prevent efflouresce. Plan on 2" drains every ten feet along the base and either bag the dirt side of the drains with landscape cloth or bury them in gravel. Cap the downhill side with perforated drain caps to prevent critters from making those drains home.

dirtydeed

Lifetime Member

Equipment