New to forum and tractors

8upbowhunter

Equipment
L4701 FEL, Cutter, Discs and Land Plane
Dec 15, 2016
S/E Louisiana
Hi everyone, I am new here so this is my first post. During my research for my first tractor purchase I looked at just about every color tractor made and in the end I decided I liked the orange ones best. With that said I will take delivery of my package next week. I bought a L4701 4x4 with loader, 6ft cutter, 6ft HD discs, 6ft box scraper and a 20ft pipe trailer with 5,200# axles and brakes. I have no experience with tractors so this will be a learning process so I will do everything really slow until I am confident I know what I am doing.

I purchased 68 wooded acres this summer and plan to build a camp there this spring. The tractor will be used around the property to cut established roads, a powerline ROW and food plots along with maintaining and working the property as needed.

I am more interested in learning more about tractor do's, dont's and operation than towing as I am already experienced in that area but if anyone feels the need to add any advice about towing it is certainly welcome.

Looking forward to hearing from everyone. Thanks for any and all advice in advance

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Last edited:

CountryBumkin

Lifetime Member

Equipment
BX2370 w/LA243, Bucket, Grapple, QA Pallet Forks, 60" MMM, rear blade & rake
Sep 27, 2015
Central FL
Welcome to the forum. Your getting a nice tractor.

The first "do" on my list (and it's surprising how many don't do this) is to "Read the Operator's Manual" cover to cover before using the tractor.

Good luck.

8upbowhunter

Equipment
Dec 15, 2016
S/E Louisiana
Well that won't be a problem because it is the first thing I do with any new equipment or vehicle I buy, thanks.

dandeman

Equipment
BX2230, LA211 FEL, RCK60B Mower, GCK60BX Bagger; Ford 4000, bush hog, blade, etc
Aug 9, 2013
Chapel Hill, NC
www.dan-de-man.net
Congratulations on the new orange purchase!.