New Member, and of course, a question!

ShaunRH

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3200
May 14, 2014
Atascadero, CA
Hello everyone, first post so please excuse my 'stupid question'...

I have a brand new L3200 and am experiencing the wonders of everything being very stiff, especially the linkages in the 3 point hitch.

I am an experienced tractor operator, having run more ancient, uh, 'elderly' iron, namely Pre-1970's larger units. This is my first foray into more compact tractors.

So far I really love the power and nimbleness of the L3200 and the 4WD makes running the box scraper a dream, however, with everything so stiff, setting up the attachments isn't so fun.

I was thinking of replacing the turnbuckle link on the lift arm (not the top link) with a ratcheting turnbuckle. I don't need hydraulics. Ratchets are pretty fast though, so I was wondering if anyone had a recommendation for a min/max length size on the L3200?

Opinions? Criticisms? all welcome...

skeets

Equipment
BX 2360 /B2601
Oct 2, 2009
SW Pa
Welcome, I don't have your model but I do know they are stiff but will wear in , in a short time,, Now I don't think I have seen the ratchet type around my neck of the woods but there's this guy in here that makes some really neat pieces for that,, I'm sure someone has his address, and the prices,, aint that bad;)

North Idaho Wolfman

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3450DT-GST, Woods FEL, B7100 HSD, FEL, 60" SB, 743 Bobcat with V2203, and more
Jun 9, 2013
Sandpoint, ID
I know they are strong but a ratchet might not hold op to the abuse of the three point.
I would take the adjustable link of take it apart clean all of the grease, paint, and anything else out of it and re-lube.

Last edited:

ShaunRH

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3200
May 14, 2014
Atascadero, CA
Thanks for the feedback.

The ratchets I am looking at are rated anywhere from 3000lb to 12000lb working load depending on size so the 3 point system should fail before the ratchet.