New B2601 owner with a question

cuboodle

Equipment
B2601
May 9, 2023
PA
First thanks to all, lots of great info here!! First post after lots of reading.
Taking delivery of a B2601 with FEL MM mower and box blade. As with most new equipment ie motorcycles and generators etc. I've been inclined to do an oil and filter change at like 5 to 7 hrs but the manual says 50 hrs. Would it be smart to do one at say 5 to get rid of wear in particles? or just wait till the 50 hr service? BTW im new to diesel engines this will be my first.

RMS

Equipment
LX2610HSDC, RCR1260, PFL1242, LX2963, RB1684, WC-68 Chipper,Flail Mower
Sep 26, 2021
Buckfield Maine
Go with the manual's service schedule and you will be fine.

Reactions: 4 users

Runs With Scissors

Equipment
L2501 TLB , Grappel, Brush Hog, Box Blade, Ballast box, Forks, Tiller, PH digger
Jan 25, 2023
Michigan
First, Congratulations man!!! That awesome.

Pics are always welcome. 🍺

Go with the manual's service schedule and you will be fine.
I agree.

Nothing wrong with changing the oil/filter sooner, but at 5 hours, its probably seen as overkill by most people.

But hey, it's your tractor, so have at if it makes you feel better.

Paul

85Hokie

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
BX-25D ,PTB. Under Armor, '90&'92-B7100HST's, '06 BX1850 FEL
Jul 13, 2013
Bedford - VA
One way to look at this is, a motorcycle, generator etc are devices that typically run at a high RPM right off the bat. A generator needs to get to "X" RPM to be effective. A motorcycle rarely sees only 2K rpm's.

You Kubota is good to go right from the get go - (say that 3 times fast!)

You are more welcome to change the oil at any hour/year you wish - many here will tell you once a year, every 50 hours.... the list goes on.

Can you change it too soon and waste money? Sure. Can you wait too long and damage something? Yes.