MX5100 and Landpride 12' batwing

kub3700

Equipment
2012 MX5100 HST
Sep 30, 2010
United States
Can this be done safely? I have a few big mowing accounts that I have been doing for the past 3 yrs with a 6' landpride rotary cutter, I figured I have enough HP for the 12' cutter but not sure of the weight. Does anyone have any thoughts?

UnionMan

Equipment
M5-111HDC12, L3800 HST , RTV-X1100C, SCAG TigerCat 61" Kawi FX Motor
Aug 21, 2013
Warrenton, VA
For what its worth I was looking into a bigger tractor a month or so back. Rightnow I have a L3800 with a 5 foot cutter. I went to the dealer and asked if the MX5100 would pull a batwing. I was told the recomend a 6 foot cutter for a MX5100 and if I wanted something like a 12 foot batwing I would have to step up to a M7060. Like I said for what its worth thats coming from the dealership.

UnionMan

kub3700

Equipment
2012 MX5100 HST
Sep 30, 2010
United States
Thx Union man, thats what I hear from other salesmen. Thats why I was asking on here to get a unbiased opinion.

gpreuss

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3200DT w/FEL, K650 Backhoe, 5' Rotary, 40" Howard Rotavator, 6' Rhino blade
Oct 9, 2011
Spokane, WA
I wouldn't hesitate to put an 84" brush hog, or a 96" finish mower behind it. I often wonder where they get their limitations.

kub3700

Equipment
2012 MX5100 HST
Sep 30, 2010
United States
I wouldn't hesitate to put an 84" brush hog, or a 96" finish mower behind it. I often wonder where they get their limitations.