Large shavings in hydraulic filter

hollnagelc

Equipment
L3200HST, 5' brush hog, 5' box blade, 6' finish mower, 4' tiller
Apr 15, 2013
East TX
Serviced my kubota L3200 today. It has 301 hours. I had the 50 hour service done at the dealer. This is my first time changing the hydraulic filter since then. The hydraulic filter had a pretty good bit of large metal shavings.

I started to wonder if it was changed to begin with but I'm pretty sure it was.

Just curious if this something others have seen with same tractor. I know its still not a lot of hours but i figured a lot of that stuff would been out of the system at the 50 hour service.

Thanks

Chris

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1450189647.336220.jpg

Last edited:

Cglaza

Equipment
L2500DT, BX2380, G6200H
Aug 30, 2015
Freeland, mi
Wow! That is beyond machining remnants. There is definitely something that is dredging material out of the case or a gear. Exploratory surgery may be in your future.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

vickark

Equipment
L3200, fel,backhoe,sgr 1060 grapple, boxblade, lp bush hog,post hole auger
Jun 16, 2013
Texas
When I changed the filters at 50 hours on my L3200 there was nothing like that. I had a very small piece of rubber, (probably from a lip seal) and enough shavings to barely show up on a shop towel.
I know this is not what you want to hear, but it looks like some possible gear alignment problem going on . I think with this problem, you should be able to get some help from your dealer on this problem.
Please keep us posted on the cause and outcome on this.
Hopefully it's a minor (and inexpensive) fix.

ShaunRH

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3200
May 14, 2014
Atascadero, CA
Yikes! Makes me want to check and change the oil on my L3200 right now and it's not at the 50 hour mark yet! :eek:

hollnagelc

Equipment
Apr 15, 2013
East TX
I did some more searching on the web. And found a few more that showed excess metal. Seems it cleared up for them anyways.