L3800 HST and Caroni 73" Flail Mower

Jan 30, 2014
Central NY
OK Fellers, I know some of you have been curiously awaiting my experiences with my Caroni flail mower. I will be removing the backhoe and installing the flail mower today. I got delayed because I had to order a new cross for one of the PTO shaft u-joints and the PTO shield parts for the tractor end. Because it is a Eurocarden PTO shaft it took some research to find the parts and then to figure out how to get the shield parts to go together correctly . . I got the cross and the 3 parts that make up the shield from AgriSupply. Everything was reasonably priced, the cross was $24 plus shipping and the 3 parts that make up the tractor end PTO shield cost less than to ship them.

Anyway, this is gonna be a bunch of "firsts" for me; removing the backhoe, installing all the 3-point hitch components, hooking up the mower and shortening the PTO shaft, prolly take me all day . . being an engineer, I tend to overthink everything and am very meticulous . . it's a curse I have to live with (along with being a Scot).

I will be posting pics along the way today so keep checking back. Probably won't get to try the mower out till tomorrow. I hope to post up some video of it in operation.

gpreuss

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3200DT w/FEL, K650 Backhoe, 5' Rotary, 40" Howard Rotavator, 6' Rhino blade
Oct 9, 2011
Spokane, WA
I'll be waiting. And don't be so apologetic - many of the Scots I've known were engineers.. Seems to be a national trait.

Jan 30, 2014
Central NY
OK . . it was a long day . . got the backhoe off . .

Got the Caroni flail mower on . .

I tried a test cut on the front yard to see where things were at . . roller and skids were set to their lowest settings . . . as you can see it was cutting maybe a 1/4" - 1/2" into the turf . .