How do you chain down your tractor

lostru

Nov 15, 2011
Arkansas
I have a L2800 and Im new to tractors. I don't like to halfway do something so how do you chain yours down. I have a FEL and the front brush guard. Thought about threading a chain though the guard the back up to tighten. Then strap the rear. But where? So I'm asking the all knowing grand pooba's of the OTT to give me direction in what not to do and how to do it right.

Bulldog

Equipment
M 9000 DTC, L 3000 DT
Mar 30, 2010
Rocky Face, Georgia
I know it's not legal by state laws but I use ratchet straps. If I'm not going far I don't even strap mine down.

The biggest thing that I see is that your entire rig looks clean and safe. Don't give them a reason to pull you over and normally they won't.

skeets

Equipment
BX 2360 /B2601
Oct 2, 2009
SW Pa
Well I dont know what your towing it with but remember if your going any distance,, like the man said if it looks good then the PoPo most times wont look twice.

http://www.northerntool.com/shop/to...=mode+matchallpartial&Dx=mode+matchallpartial

Heres a link to Northern tool, prices are fair and you dont need to go for the 10k straps the 5k will work.. and remember like he said 5 points of contact all 4 corners and the bucket DOWN and secruerd to the trailer

GWD

Equipment
M7040, L48 TLB, BX2200
Jan 8, 2010
Northern California
I go around each axle (when possible) with a dedicated chain and ratchet binder.

The backhoe has a large "U" bracket under its frame that is used for the rear tie down point.

Don't use the brush guard as it is not nearly sturdy enough.

(And, yes, a red flag is put on the overhanging boom during transport.)

Attachments

284 International

Equipment
B6000 with FEL, assorted Yanmar machines
Mar 25, 2011
California, USA