d1105 injectors don't spray.

awitty

Equipment
d1150 & d950
Oct 11, 2021
uk
Hi

I'm trying to resurrect a Kubota d1105 engine that's been sat idle in my barn for about 10 years. I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to engines so I thought I would dive straight in and use it to teach myself some new skills.

However, I'm having trouble getting it to start and have tried just about everything including;

1) new fuel and filter
2) verified the glow plugs are working.
3) checked the fuel cut off solenoid is ok
4) removed the air from the injector lines.
5) compression checked each cylinder (about 400psi)

After scratching my head for a few days I removed the injectors but kept them still attached to the rail to double check they were spraying fuel, and was surprised to see absolutely nothing. Not one drop of fuel coming out of the injectors. Thinking there may be an air lock I loosened up the injector pipe connectors (at the injector end) and fuel spurts out of each when I crank the engine. But nothing out of the injectors when I tighten them up again.

I'm a bit stuck. Could all injectors be faulty ? (seems unlikely they've all failed) or do I have a problem with the injection pump despite it clearly delivering fuel to the top of the injector?

I did remove the injector pump and it looks ok with the three spring rollers are looking like they should.

Any advice?

awitty

Equipment
d1150 & d950
Oct 11, 2021
uk
Injection pump!

Perhaps the pump still has air bubbles in it?
Perhaps the lever is stuck in the "stop" position?
Maybe, but i have run it for a while with the injector lines cracked and it's spitting out plenty of fuel as the engine cranks.
I also opened up the air bleeder valve and that again just shoots out fuel.

If i'm getting fuel to the injectors then the lever can't be in the stop position can it ? or have I misunderstood.

lugbolt

Equipment
ZG127S-54
Oct 15, 2015
Mid, South, USA