Cold Weather Diesel Fuel

doublebass73

Equipment
L2501F, 68" Pull Type Snowblower, Spreader, Dirt Scoop
Oct 7, 2020
NH
Hi all,
I just bought my first Kubota, an L2501F. I'm not new to tractors but I'm new to diesel tractors. My tractor hasn't been delivered yet so I've been reading the manual and came across fuel recommendations for cold weather operation. It recommends #1 diesel for operation under 14 degrees F which I will be operating in at times. For anyone operating at these cold temps what are you running for fuel? #2 diesel with additive, straight Kerosene or a mix of #1 & #2?

Dave_eng

Lifetime Member

Equipment
M7040, Nuffield 465
Oct 6, 2012
Williamstown Ontario Canada
Hi all,
I just bought my first Kubota, an L2501F. I'm not new to tractors but I'm new to diesel tractors. My tractor hasn't been delivered yet so I've been reading the manual and came across fuel recommendations for cold weather operation. It recommends #1 diesel for operation under 14 degrees F which I will be operating in at times. For anyone operating at these cold temps what are you running for fuel? #2 diesel with additive, straight Kerosene or a mix of #1 & #2?
The way to avoid cold weather fuel problems, assuming you do not have your own bulk storage tank, is to buy your diesel at a busy truck stop.

Their fuel supply will be frequently changed as the weather changes so you are not having to play chemist.

Do not buy fuel in the early fall if you will not be using it until the very cold weather as the blend change will have you trying to run on the wrong blend for the winter temps. A warmer weather fuel blend will gel ( a form of solid wax crystals) when exposed to too cold temperatures

Additives .......... as many opinions as their are different products.

On new emission era tractors, refer to your Owners' manual. Some forum members who are Kubota techs have expressed reservations about additives and their incompatibility with the emission systems.