Backhoe operating question

PA452

Equipment
B2650
Nov 8, 2015
Western PA
I picked up a used BX23 a couple weeks ago. I'm not new to utility tractors and heavy equipment, but I am new to running backhoes and this is my first SCUT.

My question is, when lowering the stabilizers before digging, do you use them to completely pick the rear wheels up off the ground or just take some weight off of them? In the little bit of tinkering I've done so far, I had been picking the wheels up entirely off the ground. I figured it was better to take the stress off the rear axle during backhoe operation. In reading the manual however, I see they recommend lower the stabilizers so that the rear wheels are still in light contact with the ground, saying picking it all the way up will induce unwanted stress on the backhoe.

Similar question for the front loader using backhoe operation. I had been dumping the bucket and applying some downward pressure on the loader while operating the backhoe to take the stress off the front axle.

Thanks

William1

Lifetime Member

Equipment
BX25D
Jul 28, 2015
Richmond, Virginia
You use them to stabilize, not lift the tractor in the air. Just enough contact to keep the tractor from rocking.
You do not use them at all if you are digging straight out. You only need them when the boom is digging to a side or you have a large weight on the boom (like a stump) and you are swinging the boom.
So if your job does not entail the tractor moving side to side at all, no need to the stabilizers.
Similar logic with setting the fel down. I'll set the bucket flat with the ground then let it float to contact the earth. Then take it out of float.

85Hokie

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
BX-25D ,PTB. Under Armor, '90&'92-B7100HST's, '06 BX1850 FEL
Jul 13, 2013
Bedford - VA
I picked up a used BX23 a couple weeks ago. I'm not new to utility tractors and heavy equipment, but I am new to running backhoes and this is my first SCUT.