B6000 brush hog

Changnam 59

Equipment
New to the world of Orange
Dec 24, 2011
Pathumthanee, Thailand
I am a relative novice to the world of tractors.

I own a Kubota B6000 4WD in Thailand. The intention was that it would do relatively light work running around our fairly large garden pulling a trailer. In that application its small size and tight turning circle were an advantage as it could weave in and out of the numerous decorative palms in the garden. Its light weight meant that little damage would be done to the garden using my improvised version of turf tyres.

Things have moved on and I now own a palm oil farm. The land area is around three hectares (just over seven acres) and the likelihood is that we will expand the property by buying up adjacent or nearby land.

There is a need to knock down the weeds that grow in between the palm trees. In the past this was done either using hand held brush cutters which was a long winded process or by a contractor with a Ford 6 series tractor using a brush hog. Particularly in the wet season the heavy Ford would cut up the soil to the point where it made vehicular access to the palm trees for harvesting more difficult. The Ford is now banned from the property.

So I bought a brush hog for the B6000. The overall width is one metre and the diameter of the blades is 80cm. According to the manufacturers the brush hog weights 156 kg. It was the smallest I could get here. I have an adaptor for the PTO so that the 18 spline Kubota shaft will work with the 6 spline brush hog shaft.

At the moment the tractor and brush hog are at a machine shop with experience with tractors. They are in the process of putting together a three point hitch working from photographs and other information which I put together from the internet. I doubt it will be an exact replica of the Kubota original but I think it will be good enough.

My question is simple. Do you think I will need to add weight to the front of the tractor and, if so, how much?