Wiring Basics: chute rotator

Gdemos

Equipment
BX25D, Cab, BXPanded Plow, B2789 Rr PTO Blower, Brotek Thumb, spacers
Dec 9, 2013
RI
I've come seeking knowledge, pardon my ignorance.
I am attempting to mod my B2789 Rear PTO Snowblower to include a power window motor as a chute rotator. I believe i'll use the socket/sprocket connections as described in posts I've read; i.e. an old socket hammered onto the sprocket of the window motor, then connecting the socket to the traditional manual worm gear mechanism.

I have procured the window motor, it has two wires.
I have procured the rocker switch, it has have poles.

Do I need to wire in a relay? If so, what type? Is a trailer connection an appropriate quick detatch that is weatherproof?
Would someone be able to chat me through a start to finish wiring layout, say from battery to switch to motor...

this is my first attempt at a DIY on a new BX25D with a hard cab and I appreciate the replies with direction. Thanks,
-Greg

Kennyd4110

Vendor Member
Sep 7, 2013
Westminster, MD
www.boltonhooks.com
I'll try to answer the best I can...

The use of relays is always good practice with high current devices, but without knowing what the motor draws, and what the switch is rated for I cant fully answer your question. It does add complication to the whole thing for sure. My "gut" feeling is if you use a decent switch rated for at least 20 amps DC you won't need relay's.

A trailer connector sounds perfect for this application.

Not sure exactly what switch you have, but you will need a DPDT (double pole, double throw) Center OFF switch to be able to reverse the motor easily, here is a drawing:

Attachments

Last edited:

mendonsy

Equipment
B7500HST/LA302
May 28, 2012
Mendon, NY
I also think Kennyd4110 is correct, but there is another possibility that you should be aware of .....