Which engine oil for BX2380?

pgmrdan

Aug 16, 2017
USA
I'm still learning about diesel engines.

The book calls for API CF or greater but CF is obsolete according to API.

Which oil do you use in your BX2380?

UPDATE: I got hold of the service manager at the dealership and he was very helpful with this so I have my answer. Thanks!

Last edited:

85Hokie

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
BX-25D ,PTB. Under Armor, '90&'92-B7100HST's, '06 BX1850 FEL
Jul 13, 2013
Bedford - VA
This question is often asked ......... and opinions offered.

Since we do not know you climate other than "USA" - it might be hard to answer the question

Most of us like Rotella T-6 5w-40 made by shell. I use that and Amsoil.

Kubota sells 10w-30 15w-40 and so on - their oil is fine too. - Synthetic oils are better, but any oil that is changed often is better than any oil not changed!

The real correct thing to do is this ........... change it more than you might think, and change the filter with it when you do - and your engine will outlive you!!!

Last edited:
Reactions: 4 users

pgmrdan

Aug 16, 2017
USA

Kubota, Shell, Mobil, Shell Rotella

15W-40

API: CH-4, CI-4, CJ-4 (Edit: page 73 or the Operator's Manual says this cannot be used on this tractor), or CK-4

As for the filter, on my cars I've ALWAYS changed the filter when I've changed the engine oil otherwise the new, clean oil I pour in is dirty oil after the car is started.

Any comments/advice will be appreciated.

Last edited:

JerryMT

Equipment
Kubota M4500, NH TD95D,Ford 4610
Jun 17, 2017
The Palouse - North Idaho
I'm still learning about diesel engines.

The book calls for API CF or greater but CF is obsolete according to API.

Which oil do you use in your BX2380?

UPDATE: I got hold of the service manager at the dealership and he was very helpful with this so I have my answer. Thanks!