To hydro or not

mattl

Mar 30, 2013
Heart of Dixie
New guy here. I am also new to tractors in general. I have a smallish 3 ac rolling hill homestead and am looking for a mower/ garden tractor for maintenance.

I have been looking at B5100, B6100, B7100 series older tractors. It would seem any of these models would work for my needs. Because of the hills, the 4wd may be better.

My dilema is whether to choose a manual gearbox or a Hydrostatic? I like the idea of a simpler Non-hydro tractor. Will the hydro be more maintenance and more expensive?

Can ya'll provide pros/cons of either?

Matt

ipz2222

Equipment
L235, bx2670
May 30, 2009
chickamauga ga usa
The hydro is sooooeasy on the body but..././,,mkl, it's expensive if you ever have to have it worked on. But , it's also very reliable. If at all possible, get the 4wd. It's a BIG safety factor on hills.

Eric McCarthy

Lifetime Member

Equipment
Kubota B6100E
Dec 21, 2009
Richmond Va
Hot topic of debate here on OTT. DO a search of thread on gear vs hydro and you'll see many posts about the same topic.

Rob

Lifetime Member

Equipment
B6000DT / B7100DP /B8200DT/L225/Globe PTO Chipper/Lewis Backhoe/huxley TR66
Nov 22, 2009
Leafy England....
its all a matter of personal preference really, but the manual gearbox versions are a better option if you want to use your machine as more of "tractor" as opposed to a "lawn mower".
had both versions and prefer the manual gearbox without a second thought now, the 7100hst was a good machines but never really worked as well somehow, now gone and i dont miss it, but have retained the manual 7100 and 8200.

For my useage the manuals are a far superior machine with a lot of options you could never do with an hst.

For example, we have a lot of long flower borders hear which are narrow and require regular mulching, our b7100 is the perfect size for the task with a similar sized trailer.
What i do when working alone on this sort of task can only be performed with a manuaul version.