Question about 3PH height

jdt81

Equipment
Bx2670, FEL, MMM, Woods rotary
Apr 26, 2018
Landenberg, PA
I'm new to tractors in general, so I apologize if this is a stupid question.

How low should the 3PH go? I recently got a Bx2670 and recently bought a Quick Hitch for it. I plan on getting a rotary cutter soon. For now, I had planned using it with a Heavy Hitch receiver hitch to tow stuff around and put weights on for when I use the FEL.

I picked up some old Kubota 55# weights that I repainted (orange, of course). Unfortunately, they won't mount with the receiver hitch on the QH. I noticed my 3PH only drops to about 10" (measured from the ground to the middle of the lower pin). Is that normal? Seems like it should go lower. If not, I will have to put the receiver hitch up on something because I don't think I could lift it with 200# of weights on it. The other option would be to mount it directly without the QH. Its a Land Pride QH05 btw.

Thanks for any insights. This Bx is an amazing piece of machinery, but its a bit more complicated than I expected, and the manual I downloaded isn't much help.

Last edited:

Dave_eng

Lifetime Member

Equipment
M7040, Nuffield 465
Oct 6, 2012
Williamstown Ontario Canada
Pulling a trailer with the 3 pt hitch is not the best plan.

First, the lift arms can raise with you having no control so if you are loading a trailer from the rear the hitch on the 3 pt will lift up.

Second, serious pulling should be via the draw-bar as it is located below the rear axle and is less or unlikely to cause your tractor to rear up and scare the crap out of you.

Dave

Attachments

Dave_eng

Lifetime Member

Equipment
M7040, Nuffield 465
Oct 6, 2012
Good to know, and makes sense.

Is there a problem carrying ballast on the 3PH?
No that is where to carry it.

However, you want your ballast to be wide and low not tall.
You want to keep the center of gravity of your ballast below the rear axle height by as much as possible.

Dave

jdt81

Equipment