No hydraulic power to backhoe

thenewblack

Equipment
b7800
Nov 17, 2014
bucks county, pa
My B7800 has a Woods backhoe that takes its hydraulics from the FEL console. The hydraulics to the FEL still work, but not to the backhoe. It has worked for years, and just stopped. I do have sufficient fluid. I think there is a hissing noise at the FEL (hard to hear over engine noise). So I am guessing, out of complete ignorance, there is some kind of pressure release valve that is incorrectly bypassing the fluid and stopping power getting to the backhoe. Is that likely? If so, is there a new valve I can get and install? Or should I have my baby serviced and fixed professionally? Or did I do something stupid that could have switched it off? I don't think I did, but I'm no mechanic.

I'm not sure I can live without a backhoe or tractor at the weekends. I was forced to use a wheelbarrow to carry some logs. What shame!

Thanks for any advice from the wise minds on this board.

85Hokie

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
BX-25D ,PTB. Under Armor, '90&'92-B7100HST's, '06 BX1850 FEL
Jul 13, 2013
Bedford - VA
Do you unhook anything in this process? OR did this just come up out of the blue?
Lower your engine to idle and see if you can here the pressure relief valve kick in....
place you your bucket on the ground and force it to use the bypass valve - then release and try to use the backhoe.....same sound?

Could there be a problem in you FEL conncections? I take it that they are not quick connects? If so - release the pressure and disconnect and then reconnect - see if that will help.

report back with your findings.

thenewblack

Equipment
b7800
Nov 17, 2014
bucks county, pa