New (to me) 2550DT

pmhowe

Equipment
L4240, Ford 8N, Kioti CK 2610
Jun 23, 2012
Banner Elk NC
Hi All,

I just purchased a 1987 2550DT. (I'm upgrading from a Ford 8N.) I am new to diesels. I have two questions:

1. I have been having fun reading the owner's manual while waiting for delivery of the tractor. The manual states; "It should be avoided to continue engine slow idle for a long time or repeat engine starting more than necessary." I have been told by some people that lots of on/off treatment tends to foul the injectors, and it is better to let the vehicle run. Please provide some guidance.
2. The manual suggests always backing up a steep hill, to reduce possibility of tipping over. I would guess that, with a front end loader, this would not be much of a problem for any reasonable driver, even if the bucket is empty. If there is a history of problems, would it not be good to always have an implement on the back, such as a box scraper or a blade, to serve as an outrigger?

Thanks for the help.

Phil

gpreuss

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3200DT w/FEL, K650 Backhoe, 5' Rotary, 40" Howard Rotavator, 6' Rhino blade
Oct 9, 2011
Spokane, WA
My tendency was always to let the tractor idle if it wasn't going to be off for a while. I don't recall reading anything that promoted either solution. My new 3200 swallows gas like crazy, so I tend to shut it off...