M6950DT 4x4 - Your Opinions?

Mr. Bumps

Jul 21, 2014
Belfast, Maine
Hi folks,
Great to find a group of likeminded people who love orange tractors... I'm pretty new at assessing tractors but I did learn to drive 'em on my grandfather's old Kubota back in the 80s and I'm excited to buy my first one now.

I went to look at a 1986 M6950DT 4x4 being sold by a tidy tree worker/homesteader in northern Maine. He's owned it since 1989 and it's got 4700 miles on it. 2700 of which he put on himself. It's very clean and has original paint. He has some service records, and looks like it's been serviced at least once a year. Mostly been used in the woods skidding and winching logs.

It started right up - cold start. Blew very clean smoke. Oil and Transmission fluid were very clean. Brakes were decent. No loud clunking noises from the engine.

In April it got new clutches (PTO and Gear) a new radiator, new water pump, new tires, new rims. No fill in the tires.

Today after a half hour of running it had a small drip of power steering fluid (?) on the chassis between the front wheels. He said it might be a loose hose or something from when they put the thing back together after the new clutches.

The radiator also boiled over a little bit... it was a short drive, up hill. He said it might be because they haven't really used it much since winter when they put in the new radiator and it maybe had more water in the winter, which was fine for the cold, but too much in the heat.

Those are the only two issues I could find. (Besides the lights being stove in from the woods work.) There is no bucket and I'll need to buy one and install it for work around my place.

He seems to be a conscientious seller who is tidy in his dealings around the place. I trust his word. I am a little nervous though, being a first-time buyer with little experience buying tractors, and with very little spare cash to waste.

He's asking $12,200. What do you think? Should I go for it?