Leave it run or turn it off?

skeets

Equipment
BX 2360 /B2601
Oct 2, 2009
SW Pa
Ever since I was a kid I was told that once you start a diesel its best to let it run, that turning it on and off is hard on the motor and starter and stuff. I always let it run like when Im loading a trailer of wood and the OL says it shouldnt be seting and idleing. So whats the right way or do it matter???

Eric McCarthy

Lifetime Member

Equipment
Kubota B6100E
Dec 21, 2009
Richmond Va
I let mine sit and idle if I happen to hop off and take care of a few little tasks, alot of times I turn mine off just to have a few minutes of peace and quiet. I doesn't hurt a diesel to sit and idle for hours on end, thats one of the things they designed them to do. I've been a truck driver for 9 years and let my big rig idle often.

next2dixie

Equipment
B2100HSD w/mower, Woods L84 fel,tiller,blade,plow;'46 IH "A", '51 IH Cub
Nov 26, 2009
orange county,va
Excessive idling can actually damage your engine components, including cylinders, piston rings, and crankshaft bearings. A diesel engine creates combustion of the injected fuel by the heat of compression. An idling engine is not operating at its peak temperature which means that all the fuel is not completely combusted when injected. This leaves fuel residue that can collect on cylinder walls where they can contaminate and cause fuel oil dilution of the lube oil, decreasing it's viscosity. It's a good idea to add diesel fuel cold-weather treatment or an anti-gel additive to ensure that you maintain the low temperature flow characteristics of the fuel. Ensure your glow plugs are working properly and install a block heater for good cold weather starts.

My background..... Retired USN Chief Engineman ..shipboard diesel main propulsion, ....civilian job, fleet manager

kuboman

Dec 6, 2009
Canada