L245DT Starting Problems

Mnlc90

Mar 2, 2019
Sterling Heights MI USA
Bought a nice L245DT last year (Mar 2019) and it started fine. By July 2019, it wouldn't start and from my research on it, I had what I referred to as the "death click" (turn the starter switch and "click", then nothing). Bought a new starter solenoid in July 2019 because this seemed to be the recommendation on the internet and it started fine all year. Problem solved? No.

Went to start it this year (Mar 2020) and once again, got the "death click." I bought a new solenoid and will install it soon.

I understand Kubota does not make these solenoids anymore, so buying one every year seems like a bad idea.

I'm not technical, so does anyone have any suggestions on what might be going on? The solenoid was not Kubota brand, but the new one is.

Thanks,
Mike

Greg8352

Equipment
L245dt
Feb 6, 2020
Covington Ohio
Old battery not at 12 volts will cause this problem. Cables not carrying full current. Check clamps and battery ground. Simply put you need volts at the starter. My l245dt has never had a new starter in 40years they are a great well built tractor.

Roadworthy

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L2501 HST
Aug 17, 2019
Benton City, WA
Remove the battery. Have it load tested in a battery shop. That will give you an idea of its condition and whether it will hold a proper charge. While it's out clean the terminals and the cable ends. Make sure corrosion hasn't eaten away the copper at the ends of the cable. Follow the ground wire to the frame attachment point. Make sure the connection is clean and tight. I don't recall ever replacing the starter solenoid in anything - tractor or road vehicle.

GeoHorn

Lifetime Member

Equipment
M4700DT, LA1002FEL, Ferguson5-8B Compactor-Roller, 10KDumpTrailer, RTV-X900
May 18, 2018
Texas
I experienced a similar problem with another type of diesel equipment.