Hydraulic fluid leak when hot?

la724

Equipment
l3540 tractor, la724 FEL, brush hog, box blade, 2 thumb grapples
May 26, 2015
Punta Gorda florida
Hi all, I'm a newbie with a problem (imagine that!). Thanks in advance for any help. I have a l3540 and I was running the brush hog for a couple of hours with no noticeable problems. I had the FEL off for clearance between trees. I finished up and reattached the FEL. when I restarted the tractor after hooking up the hyd. hoses to put the pins in It started leaking a constant stream of fluid out of the spots the arrows are pointing to. After investigation I found the hydraulic cooler plugged with debris. It leaked well over a gallon of fluid but stopped when it cooled. The next day I refilled the hydraulic fluid and cleaned the cooler and underside of tractor. I ran the bush hog for about 15 min. checking the underside frequently. There was no stream of fluid like before but when i parked it a couple of drops came out. I bought the tractor used in January and changed all fluids and filters then so the fluid is fresh. i put 50 hrs. on it since then with no problems. It was hot out that day, I'm in southwest Florida. My question is is there a relief / safety valve causing the leak or did I cook a seal? Thanks again for any help!

Andy

leak.jpg

leak3.jpg

North Idaho Wolfman

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3450DT-GST, Woods FEL, B7100 HSD, FEL, 60" SB, 743 Bobcat with V2203, and more
Jun 9, 2013
Sandpoint, ID