Harvest time

DaTow'd

Equipment
what ever it takes to get the job done
Aug 13, 2013
Bella Coma BC Canada
Hi Gang,
My friend and I have been pressing apples for the last 30+ years making cider.
So far we have made 200+ imperial gallons this year so far, with a lot more apples to be picked. Usual year we get 500 gallons.

Gravenstein around here make the best juice usually 15 gallons per pressing and about 18 minutes per pressing.

Best year we did 1600 gallons- We freeze our share, my pal pasteurizes and cans his, then we do a lot of trading

I have a 500 gallon stainless steel milk tank, that we load up with 6 wheelbarrow loads of the left over apple mash then add 300 gallons of water some champagne yeast and some corn sugar. We let it sit .

First year I forgot about it and during our winter freeze up, I looked in and see a huge block of ice. But when I opened the 2" valve in the bottom out poured some liquid. The freezing weather froze the water and left the alcohol - we got 40 gallons that we called Bella Cooler .
cheers
Hank

skeets

Equipment
BX 2360 /B2601
Oct 2, 2009
SW Pa
Outstanding,, I remember as a kid, you would come home from school on Friday and saw what was on the back porch,,, and you knew the weekend was toast, maters, pickles, peppers, apples, pears, peaches, grape juice, all kinds of jelly's. But then I guess that's what kids were for back in them days.
And MAN that was good eatin to be sure

D2Cat

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L305DT, B7100HST, TG1860, TG1860D, L4240
Mar 27, 2014
40 miles south of Kansas City
Outstanding,, I remember as a kid, you would come home from school on Friday and saw what was on the back porch,,, and you knew the weekend was toast, maters, pickles, peppers, apples, pears, peaches, grape juice, all kinds of jelly's. But then I guess that's what kids were for back in them days.
And MAN that was good eatin to be sure