checking front axle oil level

LenPA

Equipment
l3901
Jan 2, 2022
Sayre,Pennsylvania,USA
I am new to Kubota and was checking the fluid level on my new l3901 ( 20 hours) FWD front axle and found it to be 2-3 quarts low. ( capacity is 4.8 qts.) Was wondering if I might of done damage? I was using the FWD to plow snow. It is almost fun to go out and clear the 300' driveway. The check and fill plugs still had the grey paint on them so I don't think the dealer checked them.

skeets

Equipment
BX 2360 /B2601
Oct 2, 2009
SW Pa
I doubt you did damage, yes that is one of the things they are suppose to check, amoung other thing, but seldom do. You want to check the fluid on a flat level spot. Now when you DO change the oil out inthe front end, and you will for, scheduled maintenance, fill it up then go run around a bit letting the oil get warm and then park it on a flat level spot let it cool down and check it again, then add what you need.

Reactions: 1 user

old and tired

Equipment
L2800 HST; 2005; R4
VERY COMMON problem... I would want to chew the owner of the dealership out. Reports of low oil in the front axle is way too common.

For what it's worth, the fill from the factory hydraulic oil... I personally, would drain that and add 75-95 gear oil instead. (it calls for either, I think)

I feel sorry for tractor owners that don't read these forums and never check the axle oil level.

SRRGC1

Equipment
BX1870-1, BX23S TLB, RTV XG850, MX5100DT
Jan 6, 2021
Bloomsburg
I am new to Kubota and was checking the fluid level on my new l3901 ( 20 hours) FWD front axle and found it to be 2-3 quarts low. ( capacity is 4.8 qts.) Was wondering if I might of done damage? I was using the FWD to plow snow. It is almost fun to go out and clear the 300' driveway. The check and fill plugs still had the grey paint on them so I don't think the dealer checked them.