Brush Hog-- Slip Clutch or Sheer Pin?

Stitchit1

Jul 27, 2014
Cheboygan, Mi
I'm still hoping I'm getting my L3200 yet this week. I had a brushog in the package, & then I found a used one for sale. The used one is a King Cutter w/slip clutch. Of course, the new one having a sheer pin. Can anybody tell me which would be better for the tractor? I have no knowledge of the slip clutch or what it's advantages would be. I have had the sheer pin type model with my last kubota.

Any help & advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thank You,

Chris

Daren Todd

Lifetime Member

Equipment
Massey Ferguson 1825E, Kubota Z121S, Box blade, Rotary Cutter
May 18, 2014
Vilonia, Arkansas
The slip clutch does just like it says, come in contact with a thicker stump or rock and it slips to prevent shaft breakage. Shear pin will just snap and then you have to shut everything down and reinstall a new shear pin. Not sure about the prows and cons. Had a shear pin on a rototiller and it was a pain having to pull the cover and reinstall the shear pin, of course i think gramps was growing rocks in his garden along with the vegetables:rolleyes:

D2Cat

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L305DT, B7100HST, TG1860, TG1860D, L4240
Mar 27, 2014
40 miles south of Kansas City
If you get one with a slip clutch be sure to loosen all the bolts then adjust them to tension for your tractor making sure the disc are free.

Many times folks just leave the clutch alone thinking it's doing it's job. Especially if it's set outside the disc can get to where they don't break loose.

TripleR

Equipment
BX2200, BX2660, L5740 HSTC, M8540HDC and some other tractors and equipment
Sep 16, 2011
SE Missouri
I doubt one is "better" than the other, I like slip clutch and my brother likes shear pins, we're both happy.

Stitchit1

Jul 27, 2014
Cheboygan, Mi
Thanks guys! D2, appreciate that tip. I don't know the first thing about adjusting them but I'm looking for some info on it. The manual hopefully will have it in it.

D2Cat