B7800 and a LA402 FEL problem and fix

rjent

Equipment
B7800, BH, FEL, brushhog, tiller, blade, phd, Boxbld, Chpper
Jan 20, 2020
Truth or Consequences, NM
I though I would pass this on to anyone who is interested. I have owned Kubota's for decades and have never been let down ... until now ... but it wasn't the tractors fault LOL

My FEL quit having down pressure. Everything else worked. Bucket tilted both ways just like normal, the boom would lift, although weak and wouldn't lift any weight.

I have a degree in Ag hydraulics (not just, but you get the idea :) ) so I took the valve off the machine and disassembled it to no avail. I was really stumped. I called a dealer in Albuquerque (Mesa Tractor) that I have done business with before and talked to a tech. Found out that if the 3 point lever is stuck in the up position, the FEL will have these symptoms. I had lent the tractor to a friend of mine and he was sick that he had "broken" it.

Anyway, long story short, it cured the problem, I am now "educated" so it won't happen again and after scouring the Interwebs for days and not finding anything, I thought I would share. :)

If your FEL is weak, check your 3 point control...

GeoHorn

Lifetime Member

Equipment
M4700DT, LA1002FEL, Ferguson5-8B Compactor-Roller, 10KDumpTrailer, RTV-X900
May 18, 2018
Texas
Are you saying that if the position control lever is in the UP position, the FEL is weak? That makes little sense to me because that’s exactly how I operate much of the time and I’ve not had any FEL problems. (When I use my FEL ... my finish mower is usually hanging off the back with the position lever all the way UP.)

chim

Equipment
L4240HSTC with FEL, Ford 1210
Jan 19, 2013
Near Lancaster, PA, USA
I remember having an issue with something like this. A simple adjustment of the feedback rod solved it. I think that the hydraulics were bypassing fluid when the 3 point lever was all the way up.

lugbolt

Equipment
ZG127S-54
Oct 15, 2015
Mid, South, USA