Attachment(s) for cutting a pad into a slope?

NF6X

Equipment
L3301HST w/ LA525 & BH77
Mar 19, 2017
Riverside, CA
www.nf6x.net
I have an L3301HST with BH77 backhoe and LA525 loader, a GS1560 grading scraper, and a few other sundry attachments. I've put a little over 80 hours on it so far, and I'm still a tractor noob.

I have a moderately hilly 5 acre property, and I want to level out a new spot to place my three 20' sea containers. I'll be moving a lot more dirt than I've moved before as I cut into a slope to make a level spot, and I wouldn't mind some advice about how to proceed from more experienced folks. I've done basic tasks like cutting weeds and re-grading my dirt road, but I haven't done significant earth moving before.

Would it be effective to do most of the digging and earth moving with my loader, or is some other attachment much better suited for this kind of task, such as a box scraper? I picked a grading scraper over a box scraper for my initial purchase because it seemed like an easier attachment to learn to use for basic road maintenance, but I'm wondering if this project makes it time to save up to buy a box scraper. In any case, I think it's time to add a tooth bar to my bucket.

hope to float

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3450
Feb 18, 2018
Ireland
Use the backhoe for digging and use the loader for moving.
Remove the topsoil first before you start digging into the gravel and pile it aside for use later.
Remember that you are not going to be digging to level the ground to its lowest point. Use high areas to fill low areas and you won't have to do so much digging. You will get it level enough by pushing and pulling loose gravel around with the loader. Remember to tramp it well by driving back and over on it or better still hire a whacker plate for that (You will only need it for a couple of hours at most).