All Good Things.........

ehenry

Equipment
BX22, FEL, BH, 40" pto tiller, 42" Bushog Squealer, pto hole digger, B7300 w/60"
Mar 25, 2014
Canton, MS
They say come to an end at some point. My dad and 9 of his friends acquired a lease from Anderson-Tully timeber company back in the early 50s before I was born in 58 and formed Lonesome Doe hunting club. Back then the property was only accessible by boat up Steele Bayou from the Yazoo River or horse back. I remember my first trip to the camp like it was yesterday. They strapped a Jones&Yandell water ski belt to me and rolled me up in a tarp to keep warm for the 15 mile boat ride to the property. I also remember many cold rides on the back of a horse behind Daddy going to the camp.

The same group of people have held that lease since that time. There is only one charter member still alive today but he hasn't been to the camp in 4-5 years. I became a paying/voting member in 1985 and a camp officer in 1990. I'm still a camp officer I guess cause no one else wants it. I've raised my kids up there teaching them respect for others, firearms, the property and the game we pursued. My children are in their 30s. One grandchild has gotten old enough to go with us to the camp and made several trips last year.

We received notice from Anderson-Tully that our 5 year license agreement will end July 31st and we will have 60 days from that point to remove personal belongings. Anderson-Tully has sold 17K acres to the state to enlarge the states Mahana management area. This purchase affect 25 other long time camps that border that management area.

Its a sad day for a bunch of us......:(

Last edited:

Lil Foot

Lifetime Member

Equipment
1979 B7100DT Gear, Nissan Hanix N150-2 Excavator
May 19, 2011
Peoria, AZ