1st service?

Bearcatrp

Equipment
BX1880
Mar 28, 2023
Minnesota
Since I’m new to owning a tractor, thinking of letting the dealer do my 50 hour service. By the time next service is due, I’ll know more about my tractor. Anyone else do this?

jyoutz

Equipment
MX6000 HST open station, FEL, 6’ cutter, forks, 8’ rear blade, 7’ cultivator
Jan 14, 2019
Edgewood, New Mexico
Before you haul it to a dealer, read up on the 50 hour service. It’s pretty easy. The hardest thing I encountered was getting the filters broke loose. It seems like all of the original filters are very tight.

Reactions: 1 users

lynnmor

Equipment
B2601-1
May 3, 2021
Red Lion
There are Youtube videos to help you, no need to let the most inexperienced guy at the dealership mess with your tractor.

Reactions: 6 users

PaulL

Equipment
B2601
Jul 17, 2017
NZ
1. Not that hard to do it yourself
2. On my new B2601, I did exactly as you suggest, even though it meant towing it 2.5 hours back to dealership (I was heading that way anyway). I wanted them to eyeball everything. I did the 200 hour service myself, and it wasn't hard.....but that first one was a step too far.

Grindstone

Equipment
B2601, FEL, BH, MMM
Mar 10, 2022
CT
I agree with watching youtube videos and then deciding if it something you think you could tackle yourself. It may look daunting but it really isn't that bad. Just get everything you need beforehand, have it laid out, and take your time.

ve9aa

Equipment
TG1860, BX2380 -backblade, bx2830 snowblower, fel, weight box,pallet forks,etc
Apr 11, 2021
NB, Canada
I am sure I saved myself many hundreds of dollars doing it myself.
I read the manual, watched a few youtube videos.

If you've ever changed oil in a car, you can do the 50hr service.

Only you can answer if it can be done or not.

On mine, I had to buy a funky sized socket for the hydraulic oil drain plug and I found using oil filter pliers much easier than a conventional strap wrench due to the angles involved.

GreensvilleJay