How to properly size a culvert for Drainage ditch..?

fried1765

Equipment
Kubota L48 TLB, Ford 1920 FEL, Ford 8N, SCAG Liberty Z, Gravely Pro.
Nov 14, 2019
Eastham, Ma
You also need to consider how wide the stream is where you want to cross. If you collect a wide slow moving stream into a narrow channel it will have to speed up and then when it exits the narrow channel it will start to dig a narrow channel below the exit point. Then you will have a gully that will expand downward the flow path. I would say you will need to use several smaller diameter culverts but I am no civil engineer either.
A single 20" diameter culvert will provide nearly 50% more flow than two 12" culverts, and will be much less suceptible to plugging from debris.

mikester

Equipment
M59 TLB
Oct 21, 2017
Canada
www.divergentstuff.ca
Looks to me like your land is flat like a pancake with nowhere for drainage to go...aka lowland flood area. You could start with drainage swails to move the surface water. I'm guessing it's a springtime only problem?

Reactions: 1 users

skeets

Equipment
BX 2360 /B2601
Oct 2, 2009
SW Pa
Where does the water flow down stream? That might be your first choice to get the water out before you worry about a pipe. I mean it the water cannot discharge away from where you want to cross, the the pipe becomes a moot point. Just MHO

Daren Todd

Lifetime Member

Equipment
Massey Ferguson 1825E, Kubota Z121S, Box blade, Rotary Cutter
May 18, 2014
Vilonia, Arkansas
There should not be a need to cut any type of 20' pipe for that proposed application.
OP stated he was only looking for 10' long not 20' long. If he decides to go 10ft' long and 2- 12" culverts. He can purchase one 20ft stick in plastic and cut in half himself with a chainsaw and use both pieces 😉😉😉😉😉

Around here you can't purchase a 10ft culvert. They sell them in 20ft sticks

fried1765

Equipment
Nov 14, 2019
Eastham, Ma