BX2000 MMM pin keeps backing out

esmd

Equipment
BX2200
Apr 4, 2021
Centreville, MD
Morning all, and Happy Easter. Newbie here, long time reader, first time poster. I bought a BX2200 last August to use primarily for my lawn and some light bushogging and food plot work at my hunting leases. It suits my needs perfectly, however I do have one small, annoying issue. The pin on the left side of my MMM wants to back out while I cut my lawn, which gouges my lawn until I get stopped and fix it. It happens 2-3 times on average when I cut my 1.25 acre lawn.

The pin pulls back easily with very little resistance, so I'm thinking that replacing the spring is the required fix. How hard is it to swap the spring out? Is there an easy way to rig up something to hold the pin in place until I have a chance to pull the MMM off and replace the spring?

Have any of you had a similar problem? If so, how did you resolve?

Henro

Equipment
B2910, BX2200, KX41-2V mini Ex.
May 24, 2019
North of Pittsburgh PA
Morning all, and Happy Easter. Newbie here, long time reader, first time poster. I bought a BX2200 last August to use primarily for my lawn and some light bushogging and food plot work at my hunting leases. It suits my needs perfectly, however I do have one small, annoying issue. The pin on the left side of my MMM wants to back out while I cut my lawn, which gouges my lawn until I get stopped and fix it. It happens 2-3 times on average when I cut my 1.25 acre lawn.

The pin pulls back easily with very little resistance, so I'm thinking that replacing the spring is the required fix. How hard is it to swap the spring out? Is there an easy way to rig up something to hold the pin in place until I have a chance to pull the MMM off and replace the spring?

I think your approach is reasonable. I never looked at my BX2200 pins to see the spring, but know it is there because there is a pin used to lock that pin in the out position, when removing the mower.