Plow advice, compact B7100

FisheyeFarmer

Equipment
B7100, Tar River 41" Rototiller, Kubota Mower Deck, County Line Middle Buster
Sep 29, 2015
Waterford, MI
Hey Buds

I'm pretty new to working with tractors and I inherited a b7100 (circa 1980-90's.) I do not think it is a b7100 HTS, or maybe it is.

I have been using it to move soil and remove rocks. I recently purchased a Tar River 41" Rototiller to help me set up garden plots. When I use the tiller on fallow ground it has a real hard time making it through and stalls the tractor unless I am really attentive to the clutch. I heard that a chisel plow would help me break the soil first, before I till it and prepared the beds.

Can anyone give me advice on what kind of plow I should be using, or tips on how to use the rototiller in an effective way? I am worried that this b7100 is too small for the kind of work I need it for. I am a market farmer and will be using this tractor to set up vegetable plots in fallow land.

Steve NC

Equipment
B7100D, L2900DT, ZD21, G6200,
Dec 29, 2014
Sandy Bottom North Carolina
According to the owners manual I have it says a 14 inch single bottom plow is the recommended size for it. Depending on your ground it could still have trouble with that plow. 4 wheel drive and r1 ag tires help tremendously as would a set of weights or have the tires filled with fluid. The 7100 is a great tractor and is capable of doing a lot more than the manual recommends. but yes the plow would make it a lot easier for the tiller. hope that helps and enjoy the tractor!

"When I use the tiller on fallow ground it has a real hard time making it through and stalls the tractor unless I am really attentive to the clutch."

If your tractor is a gear drive model like mine you might need to use a lower gear in low range. If its a HST model it is easier to do, use low range and adjust the pressure on the forward/reverse pedal to make the tractor move slower

Last edited:

FisheyeFarmer

Equipment
Sep 29, 2015